skip to Main Content
(02) 209-7349

Sultan Kudarat
Region Region 12 (SOCCSKSARGEN)
Province Sultan Kudarat
General Description Sultan Kudarat is located in the southwestern part of Mindanao, latitude 6 to 8 and longitude 12 to 15. It is bounded on the north by the provinces of Maguindanao and Contabato, in the east by Davao del Sur while in the south by the provinces of South Cotabato and Sarangani and the Celebes Sea in the west.

It is one of the four provinces comprising Region XII(SOCCSKSARGEN), along with the provinces of South Cotabato, Cotabato and Sarangani. Isulan is the capital town of the province which is approximately 43 kilometers from Koronadal City, the regional center; 195 kilometers from Davao City and 114 kilometers from General Santos City.

Creation Sultan Kudarat was once a part of the former empire province of Cotabato. It was created as a separate province along with Maguindanao and North Cotabato on November 22, 1973 by virtue of Presidential Decree No. 341 signed by former Pres. Ferdinand E. Marcos. The purpose of diving Cotabato into three (3) smaller provinces is clearly stated in Presidential Decree No. 341.

The name Sultan Kudarat given to the province was derived from a Muslim ruler, the late Sultan Mohammed Dipatuan Kudarat who begun to assert his leadership in the year 1619 and reigned the Sultanate of Maguindanao from January 1625 to 1671 A.D.

During the first Three (3) months after its creation, the province was under the administration of Col. Carlos B. Cajelo who was then the Governor of North Cotabato,now Cotabato Province. Sultan Kudarat started to function as a regular province with the appointment of the late Brig. Gen. Gonzalo H. Siongco on March 1, 1974 as Acting Governor together with former Mayor Conrado E. Buencamino of the capital town of Isulan as Vice Governor and Atty. Estanislao V. Valdez, Atty. Aurelio C. Freires, Jr. And Engr. Miguel T. Jacalan as members of the Provincial Board.

Total Land Area Total Land Area: 513,530 ha

Land Classification:
Alienable and Disposable: 248,288 ha
Public Land: 265, 242 ha

Land Use:
Forest Land: 258,433 ha
Agricultural Land: 229,909 ha
Non-agricultural Land: 5,958 ha
Fishing Ground: 12,421 ha
Lakes and Other bodies of water: 5,237 ha
Fishponds: 1,572 ha

Income Class
Cities 1 (Tacurong City)
Municipality 11
Barangays 254
District 2 congressional district
Climate Type III and Type IV climate type:

Type III: described as “seasons not very pronounced, relatively dry from November to April and wet for the rest of the year

Type IV: characterized by rainfall which is more or less evenly distributed throughout the year

Total Population 812,095 (PSA, 2015 Census)
Ethnicity The 2000 census of population showed a total of 113 dialects spokein in the province. The major dialects are Hiligaynon (Ilonggo) being spoken by 41.12% or 240,839 household population; Maguindanao, 21.31% or 124,843 and Ilocano by 15.05% or 88,160 household population. Other are Cebuano being spoken by 8.06% or 47,254; Manobo, 4.70% or 27; Karay-a, 1.96% or 11,505; Tiruray,1.50% or 8,797; Bilaan/B’laan,1.04 or 6,109; and other local dialects. Both urban and rural areas are predominantly Hiligaynon speaking.
No. of Household 149,217(2010 estimate)
Local Dialects Ilonggo and Ilocano
Poverty Incidence  39.2% (PSA, 2015 estimate)
Magnitude of Poor  71,444 (Among Families)
Annual per Capital Poverty Threshold (2015) Php 20,620 poverty threshold (PSA,2015 estimate)
Land Area Devoted for Agriculture  229,909 hectares
Land Area Harvested, ha Volume of production, mt Land Area Devoted to SAAD
Major Crops Palay 119,839 419,086 N/A
Corn 34,065 266,347 N/A
Coffee 20,004 21,119 N/A
Coconut 30,328 235,726 N/A
Banana 18,788 89,337 N/A
Volume of production, mt No. of Heads provided by SAAD
Major Livestock  Carabao 3,709 N/A
Cattle 2,506
Swine 16,922 137
Goat 1,236 770
Chicken 2,450 N/A
Duck 1,148 8,470
Year Intervention Municipality Number of Beneficiaries
2018 Upland rice production Lutayan 75
Lebak 80
Kalamansig 80
Colombiu 75
Sen. Ninoy Aquino 75
Corn production(hybrid)
Lutayan 95
Lebak 95
Kalamansig 95
Colombiu 95
Sen. Ninoy Aquino 95
Vegetable production
Lutayan 422
Lebak 422
Kalamansig 422
Colombiu 422
Sen. Ninoy Aquino 422
Goat raising
Lutayan 95
Lebak 95
Kalamansig 95
Colombiu 95
Sen. Ninoy Aquino 95
Tacurong 33
Isulan 33
Esperanza 33
Lambayong 33
Palimbang 34
Pres.Quirino 34
Mallard duck raising
Lutayan 95
Lebak 95
Kalamansig 95
Colombiu 95
Sen. Ninoy Aquino 95
Tacurong 30
Isulan 35
Esperanza 35
Lambayong 35
Palimbang 30
Pres.Quirino 35
Upgraded swine raising
Lutayan 12
Lebak 12
Kalamansig 12
Colombiu 12
Sen. Ninoy Aquino 12
Tacurong 12
Isulan 13
Esperanza 13
Lambayong 13
Pres.Quirino 13

SAAD distributes Vegetable Production inputs to Catanduanes

CATANDUANES – The Special Area for Agricultural Development (SAAD) Catanduanes of the Department of Agriculture (DA) distributed inputs for Vegetable Production Project to six (6) covered municipalities, which are Bagamanoc, Baras, Bato, Gigmoto, Panganiban, and San Miguel. The inputs include…

SAAD celebrates Upland Rice Harvest Field Day in Sindangan, ZaNorte

SINDANGAN, ZAMBOANGA DEL NORTE – Farmer-partners of the Department of Agriculture (DA) – Special Area for Agricultural Development (SAAD) Program from Barangay Imelda, municipality of Sindangan, Zamboanga del Norte (ZaNorte) commenced their Upland Rice Harvest Field Day on October 8,…

More disease-free, tissue-cultured banana plantlets for Siayan farmers

SIAYAN, ZAMBOANGA DEL NORTE – From over 30,000 disease-free, tissue-cultured lakatan plantlets distributed from 2017 and 2018, the farmer-partners from seven (7) barangays of Siayan received additional planting inputs of 25,000 lakatan plantlets for 2019. The Special Area for Agricultural…

Back To Top