Skip to content

DA and BFAR to strengthen harmonization of SAAD implementation

PIÑAN, ZAMBOANGA DEL NORTE – The Department of Agriculture (DA) and its attached agency, Bureau of Fisheries and Aquatic Resources (BFAR), will strengthen the harmonization of their Special Area for Agricultural Development (SAAD) Program implementation as agreed during DA-SAAD’s 2nd Quarter Assessment. The event was held at Manuel’s Resort, Piñan, Zamboanga del Norte from August 6 to 10, 2018.

BFAR-SAAD covers the same 30 priority provinces of DA-SAAD from 2017 to 2022 to cater the livelihood and capability needs of the poor fishermen. Its beneficiaries must be included in the BFAR Fisherfolk Registration system.

SAAD Program Director Bernadette San Juan asked that BFAR-SAAD regional and provincial implementers meet with their DA-SAAD counterpart teams every month.  This is for complementation of support that BFAR and DA provide to beneficiaries and for keeping track of the accomplishments of both agencies.

The implementers also plan to discuss what agricultural help that may be possibly given to the fisherfolk beneficiaries so that they could have an alternative source of income during off-season and calamities.

Meanwhile, BFAR Planning staff Arnel Valenzuela shared that the BFAR-SAAD has a P270M allocated General Appropriations Act (GAA) budget for FY 2018. It covers the delivery of aquaculture livelihood support, fishing gears and accessories, postharvest equipment, and fiberglass boats.

Valenzuela added that Cordillera Administrative Region, Region 11, and Region 9 performed well in terms of their FY 2018 1st semester accomplishments.

The 30 priority provinces of the SAAD Program are as follows:

  1. 2017: Apayao, Negros Oriental, Eastern Samar, Western Samar, Northern Samar, Zamboanga del Norte, Lanao del Sur, Maguindanao, North Cotabato, and Sarangani;
  2. 2018: Catanduanes, Sorsogon, Masbate, Siquijor, Southern Leyte, Leyte, Sulu, Bukidnon, Compostela Valley, and Sultan Kudarat; and
  3. 2019: Kalinga, Mountain Province, Occidental Mindoro, Negros Occidental, Antique, Bohol, Misamis Occidental, Lanao del Norte, Agusan del Sur, and Surigao del Sur. ###


Writer: Jhomai Canlas, SAAD PR & Communications Officer

This Post Has 0 Comments

Leave a Reply

Back To Top