Skip to content

DA releases P75m to three provinces under SAAD program

SOUTH COTABATO – The Department of Agriculture – Regional Field Office 12 (DA-RFO 12) released three checks worth P25m each to the local government units of North Cotabato, Sarangani, and Maguindanao, identified as recipients of the government’s Special Area for Agricultural Development (SAAD) program.

In line with President Rodrigo Duterte’s thrust in increasing food production and tripping down poverty prevalence, DA-SAAD was created to focus on ten priority provinces per year until 2022 through an enormous provision of livelihood projects.

The money received by each said LGUs was the first tranche of the commitment of the DA per target province.

Apayao, Eastern Samar, Western Samar, Northern Samar, Negros Oriental, Zamboanga del Norte, and Lanao del Sur are also among the priority provinces for 2017.

Secretary Emmanuel Piñol launched the SAAD program last August 2016 in Kidapawan City and called on LGUs and agri-fishery stakeholders’ proactive participation in this poverty alleviation initiative. ###

This Post Has 0 Comments

Leave a Reply

Back To Top