skip to Main Content
(02) 209-7349

Samar, also known as Western Samar, is a province in the Eastern Visayas region occupying the south-western part of the Samar Islands. Its total land area is 604, 803 ha, bounded by the Northern Samar (north), Eastern Samar (east), Samar Sea (west) and Leyte & Leyte Gulf (south). The people of Western Samar sum up a total population of 780,481 based on the 2015 Census of Population (PopCen) and a Poverty Incidence rate (per Family) of 43.5 as per the 2012 survey of Philippine Statistics Authority (PSA) thus making it one among the priority provinces of the Special Area for Agricultural Development Program for 2017.


Samar province has a total of 24 municipalities and two component cities with 952 barangays. Its capital is Catbalogan City which is also the center of its political, financial, educational and economic activities. The natives of Samar use Waray-waray as their dominant spoken dialect which has two types: the Waray Lineyte-Samarnon and Waray Calbayog. Both agriculture and fisheries are the major economic drivers of the province.





[pt_view id=”994cd22mz4″]
Back To Top