skip to Main Content
(02) 209-7349

Zamboanga Del Norte is a province, belonging to the Zamboanga Peninsula (region 9), which lies on the northern portion of  the said region. It covers a total land area of 730,100 ha and is being bordered by the Sulu Sea (north and west), Misamis Occidental (northeast) and of both Zamboanga Del Sur and Zamboanga Sibugay (south).


The people of Zamboanga del Norte sum up a total population of 1,011,393 based on the 2015 Census of Population (PopCen) and a Poverty Incidence rate (per Family) of 48 as per the 2012 survey of Philippine Statistics Authority (PSA) thus making it one among the priority provinces of the Special Area for Agricultural Development Program for 2017.


Zamboanga del Norte encompasses 25 municipalities and two cities, which incude its capital, the Dipolog City, and 691 barangays. The Zamboangeños widely use Cebuano/Visayan as their dominant dialect next to Tagalog and English.


The Subaden dialect (native language in the province) is spoken in some areas especially in highlands. The province’s economy depends mainly on agriculture with majority productions on Coconut, rice and corn. Fishing is also prominent in the area especially with the growing presence of developed fishponds. Aside from such, the province is also rich in minerals, which makes it a great spot for mining.




[pt_view id=”e35012dfw1″]
Back To Top