skip to Main Content
(02) 209-7349

Zamboanga Peninsula, also known as Region IX, lies on the north-western portion of Mindanao, and reaching the Southwest areas of Sulu and Borneo.  It connects to the main part of Mindanao through a sand bridge between the bays of Pagadian and Panguil.


With a total land area of 1,873,010 ha, Zamboanga Peninsula is made up of three provinces, the Zamboanga del Norte, Zamboanga del Sur and Zamboanga Sibugay as well as of Zamboanga City (highly-urbanized) and Isabela City (independent).

Formerly known as Western Mindanao, region IX was reorganized thus acquiring its current name, through Executive Order No. 36 issued by then President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo. Its people, the Zamboangeños, sum up a total population of 3,629,783 based on the 2015 Census of Population (PopCen).


Although farming and fishing are still the major economic drivers of this region, Zamboanga Peninsula also  houses the first export-processing zone in Mindanao which processes rice, corn, oil, coffee berry and latex (from rubber).

Sources: and

Back To Top