skip to Main Content
(02) 209-7349

The Cordillera Administrative Region or CAR is a section that lies on the north-central part of Luzon. It consists of six provinces namely the Abra, Apayao, Kalinga, Mt. Province, Benguet and Ifugao, and the chartered city of Baguio. It was officially created on July 15, 1987 through an Executive Order no. 222 issued by former President Corazon Aquino during her term. Of all the regions in the country, CAR is the only land-locked area as it is bounded by the Ilocos Norte and Cagayan (North), Cagayan Valley (East), Ilocos Region (West) and Pangasinan and Nueva Ecija (South). However, it hosts major rivers which sustain irrigation and energy of the Northern Luzon thus making it the “Watershed Cradle of North Luzon.”

The people of CAR, collectively called the “Igorots”, are summing up a total population of 1, 722, 006 based on the 2015 Census of Population (PopCen). Its agricultural land has a total area of 177, 839 ha. with majority of productions in both corn and rice.


Back To Top