skip to Main Content
(02) 209-7349

Region Region VIII
Province Leyte
General Description The province of Leyte is one of the six provinces of Eastern Visayas Region in Central Philippines. Carigara Bay bound it on the north, San Juanico Strait and Leyte Gulf in the east, Visayas Sea and Ormoc Sea in the west, and the province of Southern Leyte in the south.

Leyte’s strategic location links the two major growth centers of the country- Manila in Luzon and Davao in Mindanao through the Maharlika Highway. Its provincial capital is the city of Tacloban, which is one (1) hour travel by plane to Manila, from Cebu, it is only a 30-minute travel by plane and via the “Supercat” Ferry, which is the latest in the state-of-the-art sea travel, Cebu is only two hours away. Thus, Leyte is accessible by land, by sea and air.

Creation In 1521, Magellan sailed from the island of Homonhon, Samar to the island of Limasawa, Leyte, where the first recorded blood compact was held between Rajah Kolambu and Magellan on March 29 of the same year. Leyte was named “Felipina”by Ruy Lopez de Villalobos, the Spanish navigator, after King Philip of Spain, in February 1543. The name was later given to the whole archipelago. Leyte suffered from the separate raids of Muslims Sultans,Pagdalanum Buhiran and Kudarat, and Suluans. Aside from the Muslim raids, Datu Bankaw of Limasawa and his son Pagali, revolted agains the Spanish conquistadors but superior Spanish arms quelled them. In 1735, it became a politico-military province, with Samar under its jurisdiction. Samar and Leyte were separated in 1768. The first capital of Leyte was Carigara the Palo, Tanauan, and finally, Tacloban. During the liberation of the Philippines from the Japanese Imperial Forces, the American troops led by General Douglas MacArthur and President Sergio Osmeña landed at Palo,Leyte on October 20, 1944.
Total Land Area 631,333 has.
Topography The terrain of the province is relatively flat to gently rolling and becoming mountainous and rogh towards the center where a mountain range begins. This cordillera divides the province into its eastern and western plains. Peaks of approximately 2,295 to 3,280 feet high extend from north to south.
Income Class 1st Class
District 5
Cities (3) City of Baybay; Ormoc City; City of Tacloban
Municipality (40) Abuyog; Alangalang;Albuera; Babatngon; Barugo; Bato; Burauen; Calubian; Capoocan; Carigara; Dagami; Dulag; Hilongos; Hindang; Inopacan; Isabel; Jaro; Javier (Bugho); Julita; Kananga; La Paz; Leyte; Macarthur; Mahaplag; Matag-ob; Matalom; Mayorga; Merida; Palo; Palompon; Pastrana; San Isidro; San Miguel; Santa Fe; Tabango; Tabontabon; Tanauan; Tolosa; Tunga; Villaba
Barangays 1,641
Climate The province’s eastern portion has a type II climate. It has no distinct wet or dry season but with pronounced rainfall from November to January while the western portion has a type IV climate with rainfall evenly distributed throughout the year.
Total Population(2015) 1,724,679
Ethnicity The people of Leyte are divided into two main groups, primarily by language. In the west and south are the Cebuanos, while in the north and east is the Waray-Waray(Leyte dialect). Waray-Waray is considered as the lingua franca of the province especially in the metropolitan area of Tacloban between the Cebuano speaking Leyteños or locally known asKana and the Waraynons.
No. of Household (2015) 405,873
Local Dialects Waray-waray, Cebuano
Poverty Incidence (2015) 23.60%
Magnitude of Poor (2015) 111,394
Annual per Capital Poverty Threshold (2015) Php 20,807
Land Area Devoted for Agriculture (2002) 279,115 has.
Land Area Land Area Devoted to SAAD
Major Crops (2014) Palay 128,993 Harvested/has.
Corn 41,288 Harvested/has.
Coconut 97,744 Harvested/has.
Mango 164 Harvested/has.
Banana 4,895 Harvested/has.
No. of Heads No. of Heads provided by SAAD
Major Livestock (2016) Carabao 119,099
Cattle 10,096
Chicken 890,443
Duck 210,371
Goat 16,003
Year Interventions Municipalities Number of Beneficiaries
2018 Swine Production (boars and gilts) Pastrana 33
Tabango 33
Dagami 22
Capoocan 11
Matag-ob 11
Enhanced Rice Production Lapaz 22
Leyte 22
San Isidro 11
Calubian 11
Villaba 22
Swine Fattening Project (piglets) Pastrana 62
Tabango 61 ind; 1 group
Dagami 31
Capoocan 31
Matag-ob 31
Lapaz 62
San Isidro 31
Calubian 31
Villaba 93
Swine Fattening Project (establishment of hogstel) Tabango 1 group
Corn Production (10 power tillers with multicultivator) Leyte 12 ind; 1 group
San Isidro 12 ind; 1 group
Tabango 12 ind; 1 group
Villaba 12 ind; 1 group
Calubian 12 ind; 1 group
Capoocan 12 ind; 1 group
Julita 12 ind; 1 group
Dagami 12 ind; 1 group
Burauen 12 ind; 1 group
Matag-ob 12 ind; 1 group
High Value Crop Production Lapaz 4 groups
Alang-alang 3 groups
Dagami 4 groups
Pastrama 3 groups
Villaba 3 groups
Matag-ob 1 group
Sta. Fe 2 groups

SAAD distributes Vegetable Production inputs to Catanduanes

CATANDUANES – The Special Area for Agricultural Development (SAAD) Catanduanes of the Department of Agriculture (DA) distributed inputs for Vegetable Production Project to six (6) covered municipalities, which are Bagamanoc, Baras, Bato, Gigmoto, Panganiban, and San Miguel. The inputs include…

SAAD celebrates Upland Rice Harvest Field Day in Sindangan, ZaNorte

SINDANGAN, ZAMBOANGA DEL NORTE – Farmer-partners of the Department of Agriculture (DA) – Special Area for Agricultural Development (SAAD) Program from Barangay Imelda, municipality of Sindangan, Zamboanga del Norte (ZaNorte) commenced their Upland Rice Harvest Field Day on October 8,…

More disease-free, tissue-cultured banana plantlets for Siayan farmers

SIAYAN, ZAMBOANGA DEL NORTE – From over 30,000 disease-free, tissue-cultured lakatan plantlets distributed from 2017 and 2018, the farmer-partners from seven (7) barangays of Siayan received additional planting inputs of 25,000 lakatan plantlets for 2019. The Special Area for Agricultural…

Back To Top